Basic Pancakes

image

It seems I’ve developed a Saturday tradition now that I’m marathon training.

Pancakes!!

I love them and I love trying out different recipes, add-ins and toppings. This simple, basic recipe is one I keep going back to, usually I add some blueberries to it. You can add chocolate chips, carob chips (next on my to try list), strawberries, top with almond butter, peanut butter, Greek yogurt or the old stand-by, maple syrup (go for organic)!

It’s always good to have a few basic, go-to recipes in your repertoire that you can tweak to your tastes for any given day~whether breakfast, lunch, dinner or a snack. So, here’s my basic pancake recipe:

1/4 Cup brown rice flour

1/8 Cup almond flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1  egg white

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 mashed banana

small amount of liquid (water, almond, soy, or dairy milk)

In a medium bowl, mix the dry ingredients together. In  a separate bowl, combine the egg white, vanilla and banana, mix until banana is well mashed. Add to the dry ingredients and stir. Add in enough liquid, a little at a time, until smooth and pourable.

Pour batter into a heated skillet (about medium heat)  lightly coated with your choice of oil. I usually make about 2 or 3 small-medium sized pancakes. Once the batter starts to bubble, I usually add in my blueberries (your choice or leave them plain!) right before I flip them over to cook on the other side.

Top with pure maple syrup or try some coconut butter! YUM!

Leave a comment