Zucchini Chicken Margherita

image

This was my first attempt at a zucchini crust pizza. I’m not usually much of a pizza fan. That is unless you tell me it’s not healthy and take it away from me. Then I’m craving it for some odd reason. So, I was excited to read about some of the healthier crust options. Because really, it’s pretty easy to adapt the toppings to a healthier lifestyle, but unless you’re satisfied to just opt for whole grain crust, there’s not a lot you can do there.

That’s where zucchini comes in!

I did some research on several different recipes and finally came up with this adaptation. But definitely check out Oatmeal with a Fork‘s version and Your Lighter Side for other options. NOTE: The main thing is to make sure you dry your zucchini as much as possible after shredding it. I tried putting it in a colander and adding salt to help it “sweat” it out, but it didn’t really lose very much moisture. I found the best way was to get the water out was to lay it on some paper towels and roll it up, squeezing out the water and then patting it with more paper towel.

My version serves one, unless you maybe split it with someone and add a side dish, then you could probably get two personal size pizzas out of it. Mix it up, change the toppings, make it your own!

Zucchini Pizza Crust

Enough zucchini to yield about 1 1/2 cups. I used 2 small ones.

1 whole egg

1 egg white

1/4 cup brown rice flour

1/2 tsp. double-acting baking powder

Slice the zucchini in half length-wise. I chose to leave the peel on. Scoop out the seeds. Shred the zucchini with a grater or in a food processor and remove as much moisture as possible (see above note).

Once it’s relatively dry, mix with the other ingredients and spread out evenly onto a cookie sheet or pizza stone. I used a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and this worked well. Put the crust into a 350 degree oven and bake for about 10 minutes or until it’s set firm enough that you can flip it over. This will allow you to bake the underside. You’ll want to bake it an additional 10 minutes or so. NOTE: As long as the crust isn’t getting too brown, don’t be afraid to go longer as it tended to get a little mushy again after adding the toppings. I brushed the top (previously the bottom) with olive oil to help it brown up a little during the last few minutes of baking.

Now comes the fun part, figuring out what toppings you want to add to your pizza!

I used a little tomato sauce, seasoned with Italian seasoning and garlic powder, some shredded grilled chicken, sauteed red onion, sliced fresh mozzarella and sliced tomato. Then I popped it back in the oven for a few more minutes just until the cheese was bubbly. This was so good I’ll definitely be making it again, and again, so I can try out different topping combos!

Crust only:

Calories 255/Carbs 37/Fat 5/Protein 17

3 thoughts on “Zucchini Chicken Margherita

  1. Pingback: Chicken Pot Pie Cleaned Up | Fit Foodie for Life

Leave a Reply

